Angulo battered into submission in the tenth despite knocking
down Lara twice
Erislandy Lara escaped California with the Interim WBA World
Light-Middleweight title despite twice being knocked down. Cuban
Lara halted Angulo in the tenth round as the Mexican challenger,
with a severely swollen left eye, surprisingly turned his back and
walked towards his corner, forcing referee Raul Ciaz Snr. to call
time on the contest.
But that barely tells the story of a fight where the pendulum
swung one way and then the other. Angulo, unranked by the WBA and
unfancied in the betting market, had the organisation's number four
light-middleweight on the canvas in both the fourth and ninth round
as he threatened a stoppage.
Angulo wasn't able to keep the most damaging of Lara's attacks
out, however, and suffered some heavy damage to his left eye which
closed up over the course of the 10 rounds until it became the
defining feature of the bout.
With a win, Lara has thrust himself firmly into WBA World title
contention, where some of the sport's biggest names - Austin Trout,
Miguel Cotto, Saul Alvarez and Floyd Mayweather - potentially await
Winner of Lara-Angulo set for big World title challenge
There is a greater prize at stake than the WBA's Interim crown
when Erislandy Lara and Alfredo Angulo meet this Saturday night
live on BoxNation.
Golden Boy matchmaker Eric Gomez has already stated that the
winner of this one will be catapulted into the WBA's top three or
four, paving the way for a big money bout against the likes of
Austin Trout, Miguel Cotto, Saul Alvarez and even the biggest
payday of them all, Floyd "Money" Mayweather.
Both men have always been there or thereabouts. Angulo is a
former Interim titlist with the WBO, while last November,
30-year-old Lara (above) drew a full WBC title eliminator to leave
himself somewhat in limbo.
Now there's a clear path set for both fighters, who know that a
win will set them up for the biggest fight of their respective